Top News

SaltWire journalists from N.L. recognized at Atlantic Journalism Awards

The Atlantic Journalism Awards
The Atlantic Journalism Awards - FILE GRAPHIC

SaltWire journalists from Newfoundland and Labrador captured a gold and four silver awards at the Atlantic Journalism Awards in Halifax on Saturday.

Kyle Greenham of The Northern Pen in St. Anthony won gold for best community newspaper story for his tale of the last days of Williams Harbour.

Keith Gosse of The Telegram in St. John's picked up two silver awards after being nominated twice for news photography for “Collision victim comforts friend” and “Devastating fire.

Diane Crocker and Troy Turner of The Western Star in Corner Brook got a silver for best page presentation, a front-page design on the #MeToo movement.

Greenham also picked a silver award in the best student journalist category for a series titled "Missing: A town on edge." It was compiled while Greenham was a College of the North Atlantic student.

Journalists at sister newspapers in the SaltWire network were recognized as well.

In the editorial cartooning category, The Chronicle Herald’s Bruce MacKinnon won gold while fellow Herald cartoonist Michael de Adder and Journal Pioneer cartoonist Wayne Wright picked up the silver awards.

Herald freelance writer Maggie Rahr took the top award for commentary for her piece about a rapist moving into her neighbourhood, cast against the backdrop of the #MeToo movement.

The Herald’s Aaron Beswick and Andrea Gunn, who is from Gander, picked up silver awards in the enterprise reporting category.

Tim Krochak of The Herald was nominated in photojournalism portrait/feature category.

Wayne Thibodeau, Jocelyne Lloyd, Carolyn Drake and Paul Pettipas of The Guardian in Charlottetown got silver in best page presentation.

For the full list of nominees and a sample of the work of all finalists, click here

Recent Stories