Top News

N.L. government makes appointments to Labour Relations Board

The provincial government announced Thursday eight new members have been appointed to the Labour Relationship board.

Joan Marie Aylward and Christopher Peddigrew were named vice-chairs.

Aylward has experience in governance, health, education, finance, administration, policy and planning. She most recently served with Eastern Health as executive director of St. Patrick’s Mercy Home and has a degree in nursing from Memorial University.

With experience in governance, human resources and law, Peddigrew is a partner with Wadden, Peddigrew, Hogan Law in St. John’s and has acted in a neutral capacity as a mediator and arbitrator since 2016. He holds a bachelor of laws degree from Dalhousie University.

John Whelan was selected as a regular member employee representative, while alternate members chosen as employee representatives were Weldon Brake, Michelle Farrell, Roseanne Saturley, David Curtis and Florence Marie Careen-Power.

Michael Power and Marie St. Aubin have been reappointed as alternate employee representatives.

Al Hawkins, minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Labour, said the appointments will ensure the board continues to serve as an impartial tribunal, “that contributes to and promotes harmonious labour relations in Newfoundland and Labrador.”

Recent Stories