Tuesday, July 23, 2024

An annular solar eclipse will transform the Sun into a ‘ring of fire’ today. Here’s what you need to know.

At 9:13 a.m. PDT (12:13 p.m. EDT and 1613 GMT) an annual solar eclipse will begin to cross the Gulf of Mexico and across Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, Honduras, Nicaragua, and across the United States from Oregon to Texas. Costa Rica, Panama, Colombia and Brazil.

During an annular solar eclipse, the Moon passes between the Sun and the Sun Earth, a shadow on our planet. A “ring of fire” is formed when the moon is not completely covered the sunThe disc leaves a speck of sunlight around the moon. (Annular eclipses occur when the Moon is relatively far from Earth during its elliptical orbit around our planet.)

Related Posts