Jackman moves aside for new school of thought on fishery

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Former education minister Darin King takes on tough portfolio

Fisheries minister Clyde Jackman was one of the big names to be shuffled around the new PC government cabinet when he was given the education portfolio and education minister Darin King was given his toughest assignment yet .

Premier Kathy Dunderdale's cabinet was sworn in this morning during a ceremony in the drawing room at Government House in St. John's.

Ms. Dunderdale shuffled the deck almost completely, laying out her post-election cabinet.

Ms. Dunderdale eliminated two government departments - Business and Human Resources, Labour and Employment - and reshaped others.

In total, the cabinet shrinks from 19 members to 16.

In a press release, Ms Dunderdale said that on election night, those who voted for her and her party honoured her team with a resounding vote of confidence and a powerful mandate to lead our province forward.

"This Cabinet and our entire caucus is energized, ready to work for the people and capable of fulfilling the trust given to us by Newfoundlanders and Labradorians," she said.

"We have a strong and experienced team positioned at an exciting time in our province's history to drive our plan for more jobs, healthier people, stronger partnerships, and resource development that is right for our province. The next four years will be pivotal in our province's history and my pledge as Premier is that we will work to ensure that Newfoundland and Labrador continues to grow and prosper as together we aim to reach the full measure of our magnificent potential."

Members appointed to Cabinet today are listed below, by portfolio:


Kathy Dunderdale

Minister of Advanced Education and Skills and Minister Responsible for Persons with Disabilities and Youth Engagement

Joan Burke

Minister of Child, Youth and Family Services and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women

Charlene Johnson

Minister of Education

Clyde Jackman

Minister of Environment and Conservation and Minister Responsible for the Labour Relations Agency, the Multi Materials Stewardship Board and Office of Climate Change, Energy Efficiency and Emissions Trading 

Terry French

Minister of Finance, President of Treasury Board and Minister Responsible for the Public Service Secretariat, the Public Service Commission and the Newfoundland and Labrador Liquor Corporation

Thomas Marshall, Q.C.

Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture and Deputy Government House Leader

Darin King

Minister of Health and Community Services and Minister Responsible for Aging and Seniors, and Francophone Affairs

Susan Sullivan

Minister for Intergovernmental and Aboriginal Affairs and Minister Responsible for Labrador Affairs, and the Voluntary and Non-Profit Sector

Nick McGrath

Minister of Innovation, Business and Rural Development and Minister Responsible for the Rural Secretariat, and the Research & Development Corporation

Keith Hutchings

Minister of Justice and Attorney General

Felix Collins

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister Responsible for Fire and Emergency Services - Newfoundland and Labrador, and Registrar General

Kevin O'Brien

Minister of Natural Resources, Minister Responsible for the Forestry and Agrifoods Agency and Government House Leader

Jerome Kennedy, Q.C.

Minister of Service Newfoundland and Labrador and Minister Responsible for the Government Purchasing Agency, Office of the Chief Information Officer, and the Workplace Health, Safety and Compensation Commission

Paul Davis

Minister of Tourism, Culture and Recreation

Derrick Dalley

Minister of Transportation and Works and Minister Responsible for the Newfoundland and Labrador Housing Corporation

Tom Hedderson

Premier Dunderdale also announced the following additional appointments:

Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Health and Community Services

Sandy Collins

Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier

Vaughn Granter


Organizations: Human Resources, Family Services, Public Service Secretariat Public Service Commission Thomas Marshall Keith Hutchings Agrifoods Agency Office of the Chief Information Officer Paul Davis Community Services Sandy Collins

Geographic location: Newfoundland and Labrador, St. John's

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page