Top News

ECMAs: Nova Scotia’s Old Man Luedecke wins album of the year

Chris Luedecke
Chris Luedecke

SAINT JOHN, N.B. – Old Man Leudecke’s “Domestic Eccentric,” produced by Tim O’Brien has won the ECMA for album of the year.

Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire won two awards Thursday night

Old Man Luedecke is the recording name of two-time Juno Award-winning singer-songwriter and banjo player Chris Luedecke of Chester, N.S.

His 2008 album “Proof of Love” won a 2009 Juno Award for traditional folk album of the year. In 2011, Luedecke won the same award for “My Hands are on Fire and Other Love Songs.”

In 2012, “Tender is the Night” was released and picked up a Juno nomination as well as folk album of the year from Music Nova Scotia.

Luedecke has also toured as a member of The Pan-Canadian New Folk Ensemble with Kim Barlow and Christine Fellows.

Ria Mae.

Halifax’s Ria Mae has won the solo recording of the year ECMA for her self-titled album.Her first release, the EP "Between the Bad," was released in 2009.  In 2011, Mae self-released her debut album "Under Your Skin," recorded with Mir members Asif and Shehab Illyas at The Shire Studios in Halifax. Under Your Skin won an East Coast Music Award in 2012.


In 2013 she was nominated for another ECMA for Song of the Year for her song "Leaving Today."

Tian Wigmore, War Horses

The single "Clothes Off" was released in 2015 and has received positive reviews. The themes behind the song were inspired by a visit to Montreal where Mae took in the nightlife. The track is produced by Classified.

"Clothes Off" was nominated for Juno Award for Single of the Year at the Juno Awards of 2016.

The Motorleague

Mae was nominated for Songwriter of the Year at the 2015 East Coast Music Awards.

Moncton, N.B., group The Motorleague has won the ECMA for rock recording of the year for “Holding Patterns."

Like A Motorcycle

The Motorleague is Shawn Chiasson, Nathan Jones, Francis Landry and Don Levandier.

The Moncton, New Brunswick-based foursome have been an East Coast scene staple for nearly a decade and, in recent years, have further propelled their profile across the country.


It’s easy to tell why. The live show is notoriously intense and the sounds they send from the stage are nothing but passionate and pure, and the music itself has bounced between everything from skate punk to stoner metal and plenty in between.

Halifax, N.S., group Hillsburn and director Mat Barkley have won the Fans’ Choice video of the year for “Run Down.”

Hillsburn is an indie rock and indie folk band that released its debut full-length record in 2016.

Lennie Gallant

Hillsburn has been nominated for a number of regional and national awards. The band won a 2016 Canadian Folk Music Award for new/emerging artist of the year.

Lennie Gallant is the ECMA Fan Choice entertainer of the year.

Gallant has recorded 10 albums (eight in English and two in French). His album, “When We Get There” was nominated for a 2007 Juno Award.

Ced Marty and Dave

Gallant has toured North America and in Europe with his band in acoustic settings and with symphony orchestras. He has performed his compositions at songwriter events in Nashville, London and Texas.
Nova Scotia R&B/soul trio Ced Marty and Dave received the Bucky Adams Memorial award.
The award honours an African-Canadian group or artist. 
Ced Upshaw and Marty Williams formed in 2009 as Ced and Marty. After their first practice they expanded their repertoire from Blues to Ballads to R&B.
In 2011, Dave Skinner an ECMA Pioneer award winner joined the group. Dave also lends his voice to expand the group’s repertoire.
Their songs are influenced by Howling Wolf, Robert Johnson, Eric Clapton amongst others.
New Brunswick group Les Hôtesses d’Hilaire won the award for francophone recording of the year for “Touche-moi pas là!” The group won its second award of the evening for group recording of the year for the same album.
P.E.I. artist Tian Wigmore’s project War Horses has won the ECMA for indigenous artist of the year.
Enfield, N.S., rapper Classified has won the ECMA for song of the year for his self-produced “No Pressure.”
Fredericton singer-songwriter Tristan Horncastle won the ECMA for country recording of the year for his album “Turnin’ Up A Sundown.”
Horncastle’s first single, “A Little Bit of Alright,” was released in 2014. It peaked at number 34 on the Billboard Canada Country chart. Horncastle's debut album, “A Little Bit of Alright,” was released May 27, 2014.Halifax band Like A Motorcycle won the Rising Star recording of the year ECMA. On the heels of a successful campaign supporting their EP "#motorpool," which culminated with a 2014 Nova Scotia Music Award for Best Loud Recording, the band posted up at Sydney N.S.’s Soundpark Studios in early 2015 to track their follow-up full-length effort, "High Hopes."
More to come

View the list of nominees

Hillsburn's award-winning video for "Run Down" below

P.E.I.'s Paper Lions on the red carpet at the ECMAs at Harbour Station in Saint John, N.B.
Classified shows off his award for song of the year.
David Tyson co-wrote "We Walk As Won" with Heather Rankin. The song appears on Rankin's new album, "A Fine Line." Both the album and the song's video are up for East Coast Music Awards this weekend.

Recent Stories